About UAE

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) was formed as a federation of seven emirates (Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Ras Al Khaimah, Fujairah, Umm Al Quwain), which came together as one state on the 2nd of December 1971. The federal capital of UAE is Abu Dhabi and it is ruled by the President of the UAE, Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed al Nahyan. The Vice-President and Prime Minister is Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid al Maktoum, who is also the ruler of Dubai.

WHERE IS IT LOCATED

It is located in the Middle East at the tip of the Arabian Peninsula between 22° 50 and 26° north latitude and between 51° and 56° 25 east longitude (23 49 N, 54 20 E). It is one of the GCC (Gulf Co-operation Council states) and has borders with Saudi Arabia, Oman. It occupies a total of about 83,600 square kilometers (32,400 square miles) and contains 200 islands.

POPULATION AND RELIGION

The United Arab Emirates has approximately 4.1 million people (2006 estimate) from all over the Arab world, Asia, Europe, Africa and America. Approximately 80% of the population is non-UAE nationals. The religion that the majority of the population have is Islam but Christianity, Hinduism, etc. are also found. The official language of the UAE is Arabic though other languages like English, Hindi and Farsi are also spoken.

CURRENCY

United Arab Emirates Dirham [AED] Bank Notes The currency used in the United Arab Emirates is called the Dirham and is abbreviated as Dh, Dhs or AED. The sub unit of a Dirham is a fil and 100 fils equal 1 Dirham. The Dirham is tied to the US Dollar at a steady exchange rate of US$ 1 = AED 3.671 though banks, hotels, and airports normally exchange it at 3.65.

WEATHER / CLIMATE

In the summer (April to September), temperatures in the UAE will very between 38-48°C (100-118°F) in the daytime while at night it will very between 26-30°C (79-86°F) with high humidity levels. In the winter (October to March), the days are sunny and pleasant with an average of 26°C (79°F), while nights are cool with an average of 15°C (59°F).

HOLIDAYS

  • Friday and Saturday are the weekend (since Sept. 7, 2006)
  • UAE National Day (2nd December)
  • Zayed's Accession (6th August, celebrated in Abu Dhabi)
  • Eid Al Adha and Eid Al Fitr (date varies each year)
  • Islamic New Year (date varies each year)
  • New Year's Day (1st January)
  • Christmas Day (25th December, for non-muslims).

نبذة عن دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

تأسست دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة من اتحاد بين إماراتها السبع (أبوظبي، ودبي، والشارقة، وعجمان، ورأس الخيمة، والفجيرة، وأم القيوين) في الثاني من شهر ديسمبر لعام 1971، وعاصمتها الاتحادية هي أبوظبي؛ ورئيسها هو سمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان. ويتولى سمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم حاكم دبي منصب نائب رئيس الدولة ورئيس مجلس الوزراء.

الموقع

تقع الإمارات العربية المتحدة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط على أطراف شبه الجزيرة العربية ما بين دائرتي عرض 22.50 و26 درجة شمالاً، وخطي طول 51 و56.25 شرقًا (23.49 ش، و54.20 ق)، وهي إحدى دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي ولديها حدود مشتركة مع كل من المملكة العربية السعودية وسلطنة عمان. وتحتل الإمارات مساحة تُقدر بحوالي 83,600 كيلومتر مربع (32,400 ميل مربع)، وتضم 200 جزيرة..

التعداد السكاني و الديانات

يبلغ عدد سكان الإمارات حوالي 4.1 مليون نسمة (إحصاء 2006) من شتى أنحاء العالم العربي وآسيا وأوروبا وأفريقيا وأمريكا. علمًا بأن حوالي 80٪ من السكان هم من غير المواطنين. تعتنق غالبية السكان الدين الإسلامي، وتوجد أيضاً ديانات أخرى مثل المسيحية والهندوسية بأعداد بسيطة. واللغة الرسمية للدولة هي اللغة العربية، في ظل وجود لغات أخرى كالإنجليزية والهندية والفارسية.

العملة

الدرهم الإماراتي [د.إ]. العملة المستخدمة في دولة الإمارات هي الدرهم الإماراتي ويُكتب اختصارًا د.إ. ويتكون الدرهم من وحدة فرعية يطلق عليها الفلس؛ حيث يعادل كل 100 فلس درهماً واحداً. ويرتبط الدرهم بالدولار الأمريكي بسعر صرف ثابت يساوي الدولار الأمريكي الواحد 3.671 درهماً، غير أن البنوك والفنادق والمطارات تتبادله بسعر 3.65.

الطقس / المناخ

في فصل الصيف (من أبريل إلى سبتمبر)، تتراوح درجات الحرارة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة بين 38 و48 درجة مئوية (100- 118 فهرنهايت) نهارًا، وبين 26 و30 درجة مئوية (79 - 86 فهرنهايت) مع مستويات عالية من الرطوبة ليلاً. وفي فصل الشتاء (من أكتوبر إلى مارس)، يكون الطقس مشمسًا ولطيفًا نهارًا بمتوسط 26 درجة مئوية (79 فهرنهايت)، وباردًا ليلاً بمتوسط 15 درجة مئوية ( 59 فهرنهايت).

العطلات الرسمية

  • العطلة الأسبوعية يوما الجمعة والسبت (منذ 7 سبتمبر 2006)
  • اليوم الوطني لدولة الإمارات (2 ديسمبر)
  • تولي الشيخ زايد مقاليد الحكم (6 أغسطس، يُحتفل به في أبوظبي)
  • عيد الأضحى وعيد الفطر (يختلف التاريخ سنويًا)
  • رأس السنة الهجرية (يختلف التاريخ سنويًا)
  • رأس السنة الميلادية (1 يناير)
  • يوم عيد الميلاد (25 ديسمبر، لغير المسلمين).