Eleven Emiratis climb Oman’s tallest mountain in celebration of 45th UAE National Day

27 November 2016

 

FEMALE EMIRATI STUDENTS REACH NEW HEIGHTS

On the morning of November 26th, eleven female Emirati students were preparing for their next big adventure. They set out to hike up to the top of Jebel Shams, Oman’s tallest mountain. Their goal? To celebrate the 45th UAE National Day, while breaking yet another barrier.
 
The “brave eleven” were driven by their passion for staying active and their love of mountaineering, when they decided to take on the challenge set by the Fatima Bint Mubarak Ladies Sports Academy (FBMA) and the Higher Colleges of Technology - Abu Dhabi Women’s College (ADWC). Having recently signed a Memorandum of Understanding to promote physical activity and sportsmanship among the ADWC community, the two entities invited Higher Colleges of Technology (HCT) students across different disciplines to participate in a hiking expedition.
 
But this was more than just an open invitation; a lot of effort had to be invested on the students’ part to make it to the final team that would get to carry the UAE flag to the top of the Al Hajar mountain range. In addition to the rigid training that started two months before the hike and the multiple physical condition tests, students had to have achieved an overall minimum GPA of 3.0 in order to be eligible for participation.
 
“Initiatives like this exemplify the core values that the Academy was built on and maintains in its day-to-day endeavors”, highlighted H.H. Sheikha Fatima Bint Hazza Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Chairwoman of the Board of Directors of FBMA, and Chairwoman of the Abu Dhabi Ladies Club. “These values, which were set by H.H. Sheikha Fatima Bint Mubarak, empower women by encouraging them to be active and ambitious and FBMA has made it its mission to instill them into the Emirati female mindset”, H.H. Sheikha Fatima added.
 
“Our goal at HCT is to encourage students to lead healthier, more active lifestyles, by providing them with various fitness opportunities throughout their college life”, said Dr. Addel Al Ameri, ADWC Director. “ADWC is thus very pleased to collaborate closely with the Fatima Bint Mubarak Ladies Sports Academy, to promote sports, physical activity and a healthy lifestyle among its students”, he added.
 
 
 
Under the patronage of H.H. Sheikha Fatima Bint Mubarak, Mother of the Nation, these hiking expeditions are steadily becoming a tradition for FBMA and ADWC, creating a legacy of achievements for young Emiratis to draw motivation from. As a result of this collaboration, the UAE flag has traveled to the top of Mount Kilimanjaro, Tanzania in 2013 and Mount Fuji, Japan in 2015.  
 
“I hope that our efforts as students inspire the younger generation to work equally hard and that we are setting a positive example. The feeling of pride that comes with the honor of carrying our country’s flag to the top of the world is priceless, especially when it coincides with the important occasion of UAE National Day, which celebrates the pioneering spirit of our Nation”, said Salma Al Balooshi, ADWC student.
 
For more information on the initiative, please visit: www.fbma.ae or call 02-2057333.

أحد عشر إماراتية يتسلقن قمة أعلى جبل في سلطنة عمان احتفالا باليوم الوطني الخامس والأربعين

27 نوفمبر 2016

 

 

طالبات الإمارات يرتقين إلى قمم جديدة

في صباح السادس والعشرين من نوفمبر، استعدت أحد عشر طالبة طالبة إماراتية لخوض مغامرة جديدة في رحلة لتسلق قمة جبل شمس، أعلى قمة جبل في سلطنة عمان وذلك احتفلا باليوم الوطني الخامس والأربعين لدولة الإماراتت العربية المتحدة، أثناء تخطيهن لحاجز آخر.
 
دفع الشغف بالنشاط البدني وحب تسلق الجبال "الطالبات الشجاعات الأحد عشر" إلى قبول التحدي الذي تنظمه أكاديمية فاطمة بنت مبارك للرياضة النسائية بالتعاون مع كليات التقنية العليا - كلية أبوظبي للطالبات وذلك على أثر مذكرة تفاهم تم توقيعها مؤخرا بين الأكاديمية وكلية أبوظبي للطالبات وتنص بنودها على التعاون في مجال الترويج للمارسة الرياضة والنشاط البدني في أوساط مجتمع طالبات الجامعات والكليات في أبوظبي، حيث دعت المؤسستان الطالبات من مختلف المساقات الأكاديمية بكليات التقنية العليا للمشاركة في رحلة التسلق هذه.
 
ولم تكن الدعوة للمشاركة في التحدي مطلقة بدون شروط بل بذلت الطالبات الكثير من الجهود للتأهل للمشاركة في الفريق الذي حمل علم الإمارات إلى قمة سلسلة الحجر الجبلية. فبالإضافة إلى إجتياز الطالبات للتدريبات البدنية القاسية التي استمرت لمدة شهرين قبل موعد الرحلة والنجاح في اختبارات اللياقة البدنية متتاليين كان لابد لكل طالبة أن تحرز معدل أكاديمي تراكمي لا يقل عن 3.0 من 4.0.
 
و عن أهمية هذه المبادرة صرحت الشيخة فاطمة بنت هزاع بن زايد آل نهيان قائلة " أن هذا التحدي يمثل القيم الأساسية التي تأسست عليها الأكاديمية والتي تعمل الأكاديمية على الحفاظ عليها من خلال أنشطتها اليومية، هذه القيم النبيلة التي أرستها سمو الشيخة فاطمة بنت مبارك وهي تمكين سيدات الإمارات من خلال تشجيعهن على أن يكن فاعلات وطموحات ولقد جعلت الأكاديمية من ترسيخ هذه القيم في عقلية المرأة الإماراتية مهمة لها ".
 
من جانبه قال الدكتور عادل العميري مدير كلية أبوظبي للطالبات: " هدفنا في كليات التقنية العليا هو تشجيع الطلاب والطالبات على تبني أسلوب حياة أكثرة صحة ونشاطا من خلال تقديم العديد من فعاليات اللياقة البدنية أثناء فترة دراستهم الجامعية، لذا فإننا في كلية أبوظبي للطالبات سعداء بالتعاون الوثيق بيننا وبين أكاديمية فاطمة بنت مبارك للرياضة النسائية في مجال نشر ثقافة ممارسة الرياضة والترويج لتبني أسلوب حياة صحي ونشط في أوساط الطالبات ".
 
وبفضل الرعاية الكريمة من سمو الشيخة فاطمة بنت مبارك " أم الإمارات" رئيسة الاتحاد النسائي العام الرئيس الاعلى لمؤسسة التنمية الاسرية رئيس المجلس الاعلى للأمومة والطفولة، تستمر رحلات التسلق هذه في التحول إلى تقليد سنوي تتبعه الاكاديمية وكلية أبوظبي للطالبات، تقليد يؤسس إلى سجل من الإنجازات يلهم الشابات والفتيات الإماراتيات، ونتيجة لهذا التقليد ارتفع علم الإمارات شامخا فوق قمة جبل كليمنجارو في تنزانيا في العام 2013 وفوق قمة جبل فوجي الياباني الشهير في العام 2015.
 
وعبرت سلمى البلوشي الطالبة في كلية أبوظبي للطالبات عن فخرها بالمشاركة في الرحلة قائلة: " أتمنى أن يكون المجهود الذي بذلناه خلال الرحلة دافعا للجيل القادم من سيدات الإمارات للعمل بجد واتمنى ان تكون الرحلة قد شكلت مثالا إيجابيا لهن. ولقد شعرنا بكم لا يوصف من الفخر بالشرف الذي حظينا به أثناء حمل علم الإمارات إلى قمم الجبال حول العالم، خاصة وان رحلة التسلق تأتي بالتزامن مع مناسبة عزيزة علينا جميعا الا وهي اليوم الوطني لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة التي تحتفي بروح الريادة التي يتحلى بها شعبنا ".
 
للمزيد من المعلومات عن المبادرة يرجى زيارة الموقع الإلكتروني: www.fbma.ae أو الإتصال بالرقم 02-2057333.