• Zayed Sports City Ice Rink, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
  • 22-23 January 2016



The first FBMA Trophy was held in April 2015 with nine countries represented in this ISU (International Skating Union) competition. The countries represented were Russia, Ukraine, Greece, Ireland, Hong Kong, Australia, India, Austria and UAE. Between these countries, there were a total of 21 competitors. In conjunction with the FBMA trophy 2015, UAE Ice Sports Federation held its first UAE National Championships. The UAE had 4 national competitors with Zahra Lari taking the title of UAE National Champion. 


On January 22-23, 2016, UAE Ice Sports Federation and the Fatima Bint Mubarak Ladies Sports Academy will hold its second FBMA Trophy and UAE National Championship. This ISU international competition will have 19 countries represented this year with a total of 67 competitors. The 2016 participating countries are Armenia, Australia, Austria, Chinese Tai Pei, Germany, India, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Korea, Malaysia, Poland, Russia, Singapore, Sweden, Thailand, UAE and Ukraine. For this competition, the organizing committee for the UAEISF are Roquiya Cochran, Mohamed Hussain, Maher Dahoud, Mohamed Arif and Abdullah Al Dhahiri. 


The officials presiding over the competition are as follows: 

Referee – Susan Lynch (Australia)

Technical Controller – Hely Abbondati (Finland)

Technical Specialist – Jaeun Chaung (Korea)

Technical Specialist – Sharon Mellema (Australia)

Data/ replay – Helen To Hiu Tung (Hong Kong)

Judge 1 – Maggie Worsfold (UK)

Judge 2 – Aniela Hebel-Szmak (Poland)

Judge 3 – Chihee Rhee (Korea)

Judge 4 – Alexandra Ford (Australia)

Judge 5 – Yukiko Okaba (Japan)

International Judging System 1– Soltan Kokove (Russia)

International Judging System 2 – Mikhail Kozakov (Russia)

International Judging System 3 – Sergey Erokhin (Russia)


On Thursday, January 21, from 12 noon to 4 pm is officials and competitors’ accreditation. 

4:30 – 5 pm: competitor order draw

5 – 10 pm: unofficial practices

On morning of January 22, first day of competition, required official practices will be from 6 am till 12:30 pm.

Competition opening ceremony will be at 1:30 pm. The first day’s competition will run until approximately 9 pm.

On January 23, second day of competition, official practices will run from 6 am till 12 pm with the competition beginning at 12:30 pm. Second day’s competition will end at approximately 7:30 pm. From 7:30 – 8 pm, there will be a closing exhibition by UAE National Champion, Zahra Lari and other UAE skaters. 

The award ceremony is expected to begin at 8:15 pm. 

This competition is open to public with free entry.


View the Results